Week Eight – Thursday

PUMPKIN FRITTERS


This will be the last blog entry for a while as we are about to get into hardcore moving mode. I chose something nice and easy as I knew I was going to be pretty wrecked by this point in the week. I was not wrong. I chucked the pumpkin straight into the oven exactly as it was for the necessary hour and a half, and then collapsed on the couch to watch Crocodile Dundee. Always good to have a recipe that doesn’t require you to do anything for a while. Even once it was cooked, I got to watch some more tv while it cooled for half an hour.

The fritters were very straightforward, just add flour, cottage cheese and egg to the scooped out pumpkin flesh. Then I just squashed a heaped spoon of it out in a fry pan. They stuck together really well and didn’t come apart like it looked like it was going to. It did take a while for them to get nice and golden, but that was entirely the fault of my rubbish stove top.

When I’d cooked enough for a serve I popped an egg to fry in the pan and served it sunny side up on the fritter as suggested in the recipe. It was a perfect accompaniment with the lovely runny yolk. It was a pretty simple dinner, and if I’d been a bit more on top of things I would have done a salad with it, but it was still a satisfying dinner.

Taste: 8/10 (nice but simple)

Recipe: 10/10 (easy and fairly hands off)

Price: 10/10 (vegetarian is always cheap)

Full recipe here: http://www.meplusfood.com/recipes/jamie-olivers-butternut-squash-fritters

Leave a Reply

